2012 WithIt Announces Scholarship Recipients

2012 WithIt Scholarship Recipients Have been Announced

WithIt Announces Scholarship Recipients: Greensboro, N.C.-based WithIt has named the recipients of the 2012 Jena & Stephen Hall Scholarship: full-time students Liz Moore of Kendall College of Art & Design and Kimberly Small of Winthrop University. Each earned $2,500 to cover tuition expense. In addition, WithIt hosted 20 Student Scholars at its recent annual conference, a feat made possible by through the sponsorship of Brown Jordan, Sunbrella┬«, furniture designer Richard Frinier, and WithIt 2010 President’s Award recipient Catherine Frinier. Students pursuing degrees in home furnishings-related careers – including recipients Moore and Small – were able to learn from keynote speakers, engage in timely roundtable discussions, and network with fellow attendees. “We had a stellar group of young women participate in the conference, all chosen by their university faculty as outstanding students with interest in pursuing careers in the home furnishings industries,” notes WithIt Professional Conference Chair Jackie Hirschhaut of American Home Furnishings Alliance. According to Amber Knight, a student at North Carolina State University, being a WithIt Student Scholar was an eye-opening experience. “I met so many amazing people; members and speakers,” she remarks. “I made connections that I had never thought possible when I was first invited to attend. The women at WithIt shocked me with their power, confidence, and inspiration.” WithIt’s 2012 Student Scholars represented 13 universities or colleges: Krystin Glass, Abbey Reynolds and Elizabeth Terrell from Appalachian State University; Charlotte Lambert from Auburn University; Kristine Edwards and Erica Lang from High Point University; Moore and Lane Risdon from Kendall College of Art and Design; Rachel Atkinson and Julia Ross from Meredith College; Caroline Cooper and Sarah Gene Kilpatrick from Mississippi University; Sara Englehart and Knight from North Carolina State University; Tina Brumm from Philadelphia University; Elizabeth Warlop from Rhode Island School of Design; Jerri Hobdy from Savannah College of Art & Design; Julia Staley from UNC – Charlotte; Felicia Dean from University of North Carolina at Greensboro; and Small from Winthrop University. To support WithIt’s mission of recognizes and nurturing the academic endeavors of future home and furnishing industries leaders, visit https://www.withit.org/scholarship_foundation.asp to make a donation.

One thought on “2012 WithIt Announces Scholarship Recipients

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *